RSS

Dinner tonight

30 Oct

This evening I thought I’d play it easy and quick, since I won’t be grocery shopping for a while. Unfortunately, lunch was off the Fresca menu at Taco Bell because I was quite busy today. I decided to do a little “ahead” cooking so I could refrain from doing so for a few days. Six chicken leg quarters went into the oven with some homemade BBQ sauce (the last of it from the freezer, gotta make more.)  Then I took a pack of stuffed chicken breasts from the freezer for dinner tonight (and maybe lunch tomorrow.)  Topped it off with some quinoa cooked in chicken bullion water. . .and it was great. So here goes: Chicken with cheese and green chile peppers

Oh, yeah. . .found them on sale.

With a bit of olive oil, ready for the oven

A touch of olive oil, a 400 degree oven (the little Cuisiart countertop) at 400F and 40 minutes to cook. Now onto the side dish, my favorite: quinoa!

Ready to eat!

Oh, yeah. . .2 cups of water with 2 chicken bullion cubes. Crumble them up, boil the water. When it boils, add 1 cup rinsed quinoa, and lower the heat a bit. Cover, but don’t ignore it–this stuff cooks quickly, and will burn on the bottom of the pot. At $4 a pound, waste offends me greatly.

While that was going on, I also put the other chicken in the big oven. An hour later, I would not have to cook again unless I wanted to:

Deliciousness about to happen

So when it was finally time to eat:

Does anyone not realize that cheese will ooze out at 400F?

Enough left for tomorrow, too!

And so I don’t have to cook anymore for a few days, I have a little something that would rival Goode Company BBQ:

BBQ sauce made with Somersweet and NO SUGAR. Delish. . .

It’s not fine dining, but hey–it’s “heat and eat” you can feel good about.

Happy Dining!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Fast & Easy, What's for Dinner?

 

Like what you read? Got something to say? Discuss it here! (Please be nice.)

 
All Day I Dream About Food

All the best low carb keto recipes for a healthy lifestyle

Feeling Good

The website of David D. Burns, MD

HeatCageKitchen

Because good food deserves to be passed around. . . .

Crafty Coin

Tips for how to budget and live frugally

gf and me

Gluten Free Recipes & Tips

Self-help Health

Tips, Tools & Information for a Healthier YOU!

Sewn Up

TeresaDownUnder

Fingerlike

My life is my big moment. Only if I had enough nerve to make that moment bigger.

Affordable Web Videos

Creating SEO Videos For All Business

Cajun Food, Louisiana History, and a Little Lagniappe

Preservation of traditional River Road cuisine, Louisiana history & architecture, and the communities between Baton Rouge & NOLA

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Sinfully Tempting

Sweet. Savory. Sinful.

Evil HR Lady

Demystifying Your Human Resources Department

Jackson Galaxy

The Cat Daddy

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

