RSS

Boheme Bistro, Delray Beach, FL

30 Oct

Last week I was in Delray Beach, Florida, where I’ve been twice before for the annual Copywriters Bootcamp sponsored by American Writers & Artists, Inc. (AWAI) While the food is always wonderful, there was one occasion where I left to find some.

You see, it was my birthday, and after one of the presentations, everyone scattered. I decided I would have a great lunch and some great dessert. (Boy, did I.)  I’m getting ahead of myself. Let’s start at the beginning. . . .

On prior trips out of the conference, I walked past Boheme Bistro a few times, but kept going because I thought it might be too expensive. During the first two trips, I was on a company expense account. Anything unusual could be considered fraudulent, or at least raise an eyebrow. Since my manager was so nice to send me, I made absolutely certain that there was nothing unusual about my credit card receipts.

The conference started at 1:00 pm Wednesday with a luncheon, so that morning, I decided I’d do my souvenir shopping. (You just can’t go wrong with a) coffee cups, b) T-shirts, and c) fridge magnets. I love them all.) Great little walk up and down Atlantic Avenue, but about 11:00 am, I started getting hungry. REALLY hungry. I went into a hotel about six blocks from the beach and was curtly told by someone at 11:10 am in the snack bar that breakfast was over promptly at 11:00 am. I said, just as curtly, “Thank you” and walked out.

I went past the Boheme, thinking they would tell me the same thing, but turned around when I saw a bakery sign. I asked the lady about breakfast, and she invited me in. (It was now about 11:15.) I didn’t want to look at a menu, take a table, I really just wanted some food. (At this point, I almost didn’t care what it cost, since it was my own credit card being used.)  She suggested what they call “Grandmother’s Style Eggs.” I said, “OK.” I had a seat at the bar and they brought me a glass of water.  I waited patiently. A little longer than fast food, but not very long. You can’t rush these things.

What they brought was the kind of picture-perfect dish you see in magazines–which I forgot to take a picture of, because I was THAT hungry.  In addition to three scrambled eggs with chopped tomatoes and onions, there were what they call “home potatoes.” I normally don’t eat potatoes, (high in starch) but I couldn’t resist these. I would ignore chocolate for these potatoes. Red (aka “new”) potatoes, perfectly cut into a very large dice, and fried up with the crispiest outsides ever. They offered me ketchup, but I declined. It would have ruined these potatoes. All they needed was salt.

Trust me when I tell you I was the happiest cat in the kingdom at this point. I finished off this delicious creation and paid my tab. I wanted to go back to the Boheme before I left Delray Beach, and on Friday, I got my chance.

Friday, October 26th. My birthday. Everyone sort of scattered after the session I was in ended, so I went off on my own to the Boheme. Why? Partly because I knew they wouldn’t do that embarrassing birthday thing they do in chain restaurants. I hate that.

Like a lot of people, I enjoy Italian food, but I don’t eat much in the way of pasta. I used to. But now I save it for special occasions, like dinner at someone’s house, or. . .my birthday. I love tortellini, and prefer to have it on my birthday. Most restaurants have ravioli, but no tortellini, so that’s what I had at Boheme. It was, of course, delicious. Take a look:

Oh so good. . .

Happy Birthday. . .to me!!

I know I shouldn’t have–I really shouldn’t have–but I asked about dessert. Since it was so early in the day, all the desserts were in a small fridge case in the back. So I looked at all of them (from a distance) and decided to have that chocolate mousse-y thing. The nice waitress had to take the plastic off the sides.

But for my birthday, in a wonderful place to be, I thought it was appropriate:

When you can't have a regular birthday cake, this fits the bill perfectly.

Yes, it was delicious. No, I did not share. Yes, I ate the whole thing. No, I did not lick the plate (but was greatly tempted.) Yes, it was worth the calories. The little whipped cream stars were a nice touch.

The place is a comfortable, rustic building, with indoor and outdoor seating, and a nice big bar, complete with a huge selection of wines and liquors. (No, not at 11:30 am.) It’s comfortable, with a friendly staff who will tell you anything you want to know. The kind of place you wander into like I did for a bite to eat and maybe a drink.

Highly recommended, and I can’t wait to go back. Thanks!!!

You can find more about Boheme Bistro at their website, http://bohemebistro.com/

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 30, 2012 in Restaurant Review, Uncategorized

 

Like what you read? Got something to say? Discuss it here! (Please be nice.)

 
All Day I Dream About Food

All the best low carb keto recipes for a healthy lifestyle

Feeling Good

The website of David D. Burns, MD

HeatCageKitchen

Because good food deserves to be passed around. . . .

Crafty Coin

Tips for how to budget and live frugally

gf and me

Gluten Free Recipes & Tips

Self-help Health

Tips, Tools & Information for a Healthier YOU!

Sewn Up

TeresaDownUnder

Fingerlike

My life is my big moment. Only if I had enough nerve to make that moment bigger.

Affordable Web Videos

Creating SEO Videos For All Business

Cajun Food, Louisiana History, and a Little Lagniappe

Preservation of traditional River Road cuisine, Louisiana history & architecture, and the communities between Baton Rouge & NOLA

Crazy Green Thumbs

Chronicling a delusional gardening experience.

Book Hub, Inc.

The Total Book Experience

Sinfully Tempting

Sweet. Savory. Sinful.

Evil HR Lady

Demystifying Your Human Resources Department

Jackson Galaxy

The Cat Daddy

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

